Cultivating Digital Footprints in School: The Times They Are A-Changin’

The debate topic, “Educators and schools have a responsibility to help their students develop a digital footprint” definitely made me pause. I thought it was interesting that the topic was phrased so instead of, “Educators have a responsibility to teach their students about the implications of their digital footprint.” If the debate topic was the latter, I would definitely be an ardent supporter. Yet, I’m left to ponder the phrasing of “help their students develop” their digital footprint. What exactly, does “develop” mean? That we will be posting artifacts of our learning on the internet? That class photos and videos will actively be posted online? That we use social media as a platform to cultivate our digital identities?

This train of thought led me to an interesting assessment: in schools, the emphasis is put on the danger of cultivating a negative digital footprint, instead of the benefits of cultivating a positive one. Teachers are usually heavy on the doom and gloom of “Don’t post this on the internet, or else…” instead of “Hey, posting this on the internet might be a really good opportunity for you to share your ideas and/or collaborate with others.” Certainly, when I was in high school, and social media was relatively new, my teachers hammered the idea that make one wrong move online, and job and/or university prospects will immediately nix you.

In their article, Buchanan et al. also agree with this sentiment and say, “many children and teenagers are being discouraged from freely using the internet, in an effort to protect them from making mistakes and encountering danger.” Indeed, from my experience, the risks of the internet have often been harped upon to students in lecture-based Mr. Lorensax from Ferris Bueller’s Day off style. However, according to Buchanan et al., “This discourse portrays children as powerless victims rather than resourceful participants.”

Maybe the fear tactics that teachers have been using in regards to engaging with the internet need to receive a fundamental upgrade. Reflecting on my own journey, I have kept my digital footprint to the bare minimum over the years. This strategy started in high school and continued into university when I decided I wanted to be an educator. Throughout my teaching career, I’ve Googled my name several times and made sure that there was nothing to “find”; am I, too, perpetuating the problem? I will be the first to admit that I have repeatedly told students, “Be careful what you post on the internet!” instead of, “Did you know the internet is a great tool to gain a global audience and develop your digital identity?”

According to Dawn McGuckin via Faculty Focus, “students…having no online identity can be also be detrimental…Having a visible and professional online identity can help students land their dream job.” Buchanan et al. also agree with this sentiment and say that “a lack of a digital footprint can be as bad as one badly managed.” They go on to argue that “10-12 years is an appropriate age to being to educate for positive digital footprint curation.”

I think about all the youth who have been able to make a positive impact and gain global recognition due to their digital footprint. In one of my other blog posts, one person I mentioned was Greta Thunberg. There are countless others. Certainly, the internet poses many real, and potentially scary threats. But are we really giving students the credit they deserve?

This is the first generation of teenagers who have grown up with social media all of their life. As Buchanan et al. said, perhaps it is time to stop treating them like they are helpless participants and instead let them cultivate their innate digital literacy.

However, I do struggle with all the responsibility being placed on educators and schools. Do I think that teachers should be steadfast about teaching what a digital footprint is? Yes! Do I think that teachers should reiterate over and over the importance of not leaving behind a negative digital footprint? Absolutely. Yet, I don’t think it is solely educators’ responsibility to actively develop all of their students’ (which, in high school, can be an upwards of 125 students).

I liked the disagree side’s argument that, when it comes to bringing awareness about one’s digital footprint, it should be a targeted community approach. More specifically, this responsibility should also be shared by parents and the provincial government. The government has shown that it can roll out effective advocacy campaigns with “Stick it to COVID”. Could no something similar be done (albeit on a smaller scale) about digital footprint?

In the debate, there was a push to put the bulk of the responsibility on parents. I struggle with this. We know that a percentage of our students come from low socio-economic backgrounds and statistics tell us that these students are the most vulnerable. For some of these kids, learning about digital footprints in school will be the first time they ever hear the words. Do we not hold some responsibility to these students?

Public education was once thought to be “the great equalizer”. Although I know that’s a very romanticized notion, I think the intent behind that statement is important. No matter socio-economic status, religion, sexual orientation, ethnicity, gender, etc, everyone has a right to public education. Knowledge is power. And, public education is supposed to be responsive to the current day society. It would follow then, that teachers and schools do have some responsibility to teach students about their digital footprint, including the benefits of cultivating a positive one.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started